Scientific Boards

Members of the Palacký University Olomouc Scientific Board (VR UP) are distinguished representatives in the fields in which Palacký University engages in educational, scientific, research, and artistic activities. It also includes persons who are not members of the UP academic community. Membership is honorary and non-exchangeable and the rules for being seated on the council and the method of its negotiations are set forth by the VR UP Rules of Procedure.

Scientific Board Competencies:

  • Debate UP long-term goals
  • Approve extending academic disciplines at UP
  • Propose measures for the development of human resources in fields by academic workers
  • Perform its duty in the procedures for naming professors and associate professors (docent)
  • Decide upon awarding the title "Doctor honoris causa" ("Dr.h.c" - Honorary Doctorate)
  • Deliver opinions to questions posed by the Rector


prof. MUDr. Martin Procházka, Ph.D.; UP rector; Gynecology and Obstetrics

Internal members:                               
prof. RNDr. dr hab. Jan Andres, DSc.; UP FS, Mathematics             
prof. Mgr. Ondřej Bábek, Dr.; UP FS, Geology, Geophysics        
prof. RNDr. Dr. Radim Bělohlávek, DSc.; UP FS, Informatics and Cybernetics     
prof. PhDr. Panajotis Cakirpaloglu, DrSc.; UP FA, Educational Psychology, Clinical Psychology
prof. MUDr. Roman Havlík, Ph.D.; UP FMD, Surgery, Oncological Surgery
prof. RNDr. Zdeněk Hradil, CSc.; UP FS, Optics and Quantum Electronics
doc. Mgr. Vít Hušek, Th.D.; UP CMFT, Theology       
prof. RNDr. Miroslav Janura, Dr.; UP FPC, Kinanthropology    
prof. RNDr. Hana Kolářová, CSc.; UP FMD, Medical Biophysics               
doc. PhDr. Lenka Křupková, Ph.D.; FA UP, Musicology  
doc. RNDr. Martin Kubala, Ph.D.; Dean, UP FS, Biophysics              
prof. PhDr. et Mgr. Jiří Lach, Ph.D., MA.; UP FA, History, Political Science
prof. PaedDr. Libuše Ludíková, CSc.; Dean; UP FE, Special Education
prof. PhDr. Dušan Lužný, Dr.; UP FA, Sociology, Psychology         
prof. PhDr. Tomáš Nejeschleba, Ph.D.; UP FA, Philosophy      
prof. RNDr. Michal Otyepka, Ph.D.; UP CATRIN, Physical Chemistry   
prof. PhDr. Zdeněk Pechal, CSc.; Dean; UP FA, History of Slavonic Literature, History of Czech, Polish and Russian Literature
doc. Mgr. Jana Pelclová, Ph.D.; UP FPC, Kinanthropology   
doc. Mgr. Lucie Plíhalová; Ph.D.; UP FS, Inorganic Chemistry, Chemical Biology, Agricultural Chemistry
doc. JUDr. Václav Stehlík, LL.M., Ph.D.; Dean; UP FL, European Union Law      
Mgr. Michal Šafář, Ph.D.; Dean, UP FPC, Kinanthropology
prof. PhDr. Eva Šmelová, Ph.D.; UP FE, Education            
doc. Mgr. Petra Šobáňová, Ph.D.; UP FE; Education  
prof. Ing. Mgr. et Mgr. Peter Tavel, Ph.D.; Dean; UP CMFT, Clinical Psychology, Theology
prof. RNDr. Jitka Ulrichová, CSc.; UP FMD, Medical Chemistry and Biochemistry           
Mgr. Jiří Vévoda, Ph.D.; děkan UP FHS, Social Medicine, Health Economics and Management
prof. Mgr. Kateřina Vitásková, Ph.D.; UP FE, Special Education
prof. RNDr. Vít Voženílek, CSc.; UP FS, Physical Geography, Geoinformatics      
prof. MUDr. Josef Zadražil, CSc.; Dean; UP FMD, Internal Medicine, Nephrology
doc. PhDr. Jana Zapletalová, Ph.D.; UP FA, History of Visual Arts 

External members:
Prof. PhDr. Stanislav Balík, Ph.D.; Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences, MU in Brno; Political Science
Prof. MUDr. Martin Bareš, Ph.D.; Rector of Masaryk University in Brno; Neurology
prof. RNDr. Ivana Černá, CSc.; Faculty of Informatics, MU in Brno; Informatics
prof. PhDr. Tomáš Janík, Ph.D., M.Ed.; Faculty of Education, MU in Brno; Pedagogy
Mgr. Anna Jenčová, DrSc.; Institute of Mathematics SAS; Mathematics
Prof. RNDr. Jana Kalbáčová Vejpravová, Ph.D.; Faculty of Physics, CU in Prague; Condensed Matter Physics
Prof. RNDr. Jana Klánová, Ph.D.; Faculty of Science, MU in Brno; Environmental Chemistry
PhDr. Eva Kowalská, DrSc.; Historical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Sciences; History - Slovak History
Brig. Gen. prof. RNDr. Zuzana Kročová, Ph.D.; Rector of the University of Defence; Physical Chemistry; Infectious Biology; Clinical Immunology
prof. PhDr. Petr Kyloušek, CSc.; Faculty of Arts, MU in Brno; History of Specific Literatures (Romance languages), French Literature, Theory of Literature
Ing. Ilona Müllerová, DrSc.; Institute of Physics of the CAS; Electronics and Vacuum Technology
doc. PhDr. Kateřina Nedbálková, Ph.D.; Faculty of Social Sciences, MU in Brno; Sociology
doc. JUDr. Kateřina Ronovská, Ph.D.; Faculty of Law, MU in Brno; Civil Law
prof. PaedDr. Darina Tarcsiová, PhD.; Faculty of Education, CU in Bratislava; Special Education
Prof. RNDr. Eva Zažímalová, CSc.; Chair of the CAS; Anatomy and Physiology of Plants
Prof. PaedDr. Katarína Žilková, PhD.; Faculty of Education, CU in Bratislava; Theory of Mathematics Teaching, Preschool and Elementary Pedagogy

Privacy settings

We use cookies and any other network identifiers on our website that may contain personal data (e.g. about how you browse our website). We and some of the service providers we use have access to or store this data on your device. This data helps us to operate and improve our services. For some purposes, your consent is required to process data collected in this way. You can change or revoke your consent at any time (see the link at the bottom the page).

(Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.)
(Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.)
(They are designed for promotional purposes, measuring the success of promotional campaigns, etc.)